The (Other) Gap

Posted: October 7, 2013 in Humor, Migraine, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Today, I came across an article about a terrible fad among teens, called the Thigh Gap. It’s exactly what it sounds like; a gap between the thighs. Even when standing with their feet together, girls are working to be so thin that never the twain shall their thighs meet. If that sounds unhealthy to you, you’d be correct. In a Mercury News article, Laura Tosi, the director of the bone health program at Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, DC confirms this assumption, and says that it is particularly dangerous for girls who would attempt such severe weight loss during puberty.

A simple online search returned a shocking number of links and images. I’m not posting the links, because I’m not willing to be a participant in forcing this distorted body image on the girls of the world. These links were not informational, but fan-type stuff. What really got me was that some of those pages were calling these thigh gaps “sexy”. Say what? I know that I’m removed from the world quite a bit, due to my chronic migraine disease, but since when are bony thighs sexy? Is this something that teen boys are now actively seeking, anorexic girls? Or worse, because they should know better by now, are full-grown men attracted to women’s thigh gaps?

I will definitely be accosting my husband when he comes home. I need to know more about this insidious thigh gap and its level of appeal to the modern male. I expect to hear that he prefers zero thigh gap. This is the allowable thigh gap preference for ReloVertigo’s husband, Friendly Reader. Because let me tell you, I may be on a weight loss program, but I will never, ever be able to reduce the girth of my thighs to the point that Mr ReloVertigo can watch Monday Night Football through them, unless he lies on the floor, and I stand with my feet astraddle his head. And if that happens, I doubt he’ll be able to concentrate on the football.

Leave a Reply

