Home? Where’s that?

Posted: October 20, 2013 in Health, Humor, Migraine, Travel, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

“Home” would seem to be a simple concept. Wherever you live, wherever your family lives, or maybe wherever you return when you want to feel “home,” even if you don’t live there would be home to most people. But what if you’re more of a Western world nomad, and don’t put roots anywhere?

My name on this blog, ReloVertigo, is one that was created long before I ever had a blog. When I first started a Twitter account, I took on that name. It was an easy choice, because I was about to be RELOcated yet again, thus the Relo-Vertigo. My husband is in a professional position that has been upwardly mobile, and that has required a bit of a tour of the States. Roving the nation’s interstates, planting stakes here and there, we’ve at one point lived in four different states within seven years. Let that sink in for a moment. 4 states. 7 years. Is it any wonder then, that one dark night I was stuck in a nightmare that could be had only by the wife or kid of a career man like my husband?

The nightmare: I was in some generic city, and I needed to go home. Trying to put my address into my GPS, I froze. Hmm…where did I live? OH MY GOSH, I DIDN’T KNOW WHERE I LIVED! I racked my brain, but nothing would pop into my memory. I started reciting all of the cities in which we have ever lived. And I couldn’t remember in which one I currently lived! Or, oh horrors, did I live in a new city not on the list I had recited, and I didn’t know what that city was?

That was the entire nightmare. Doesn’t sound like much to you? Allow me to assure you that, particularly when you’ve moved as often as we have, remembering your current address is preeminently critical. And preposterously difficult. The last house we lived in had a house number that was a rearrangement of the same digits in our zip code. Really, City of Somewhere, USA? You trying to make me sound like a mental defective when the customer service lady at the new bank/utility company/library/whatever asks me where I live?

The best part of the whole Woman of the World experience? Mr ReloVertigo got a new job offer. The trip I mentioned in my last couple posts was to check the new place out. It looks like we will be moving again soon! How do I feel about that? About like this:

Home wasn’t a set house, or a single town on a map. It was wherever the people who loved you were, whenever you were together. Not a place, but a moment, and then another, building on each other like bricks to create a solid shelter that you take with you for your entire life, wherever you may go.

Sarah Dessen, What Happened to Goodbye

This post was inspired by The Daily Prompt

Comments
  1. […] Home? Where’s that? | 6 of One… […]

  2. […] Home? Where’s that? | 6 of One… […]

Leave a Reply

