What’s Scarier Than Halloween?

Posted: November 1, 2013 in Health, Humor, Migraine, NaNoWriMo, Uncategorized, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

It’s Halloween night as I write this post, and at midnight, I begin my quest to complete the NaNoWriMo event. I call it a challenge, whether they do or not. I’m afraid. In real life (this blog is not real life to me, though all of my posts are nonfiction), I would say that nobody I know would call me fearful. But this is really scary. I am embarking on a journey I’ve always wanted to take, but have safely avoided for years. There have been so many easy excuses for not making a commitment like this.

  • My job is too demanding. I don’t have the time to devote to writing.
  • My kids are too young. I don’t have the time to devote to writing.
  • I just got this puppy, and he is eating all of my shoes. I definitely do not have time to devote to writing.
  • We are about to/just did move and my life is chaotic enough. No time to devote to writing.
  • I’m so involved with church activities, and I can’t bail on them. WWJD? He would not have time to devote to writing.
  • I just made a joke about Jesus, and may go to hell. Definitely no time for writing there.

You get the picture. But now I’ve gone and not only signed up, but I have told people. I have to go through with it, or have zero credibility, and lose what few readers I have on this teensy little blog. *insert sad puppy whine here*

I realized today, though, that I already had a topic, a setting, and some characters in mind; I just have to work out the details. No problem, right?LOL Rage Face

Leave a Reply

