I Missed You

Posted: November 2, 2013 in Health, Humor, Migraine, NaNoWriMo, Uncategorized, Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

I missed my regular post yesterday. I slept most of the day, because I spent all of the previous night either at the ER, or in hysterics from uncontrollable itching. Itching doesn’t sound like much of an emergency, but combined with swelling, it can be pretty scary.

I seem to have had an allergic reaction to a new medication. I took it for no more than a couple of days before the itching appeared in my scalp. But when the swelling started in my fingers, the itching spread to my whole body. I’ve had hives before. But I’ve never had them like this episode.

My fingers eventually swelled to the extent that the skin split and bled in places, and in other places they split and bled under the top layer of skin. At its worst, I couldn’t bend my fingers, and my fingertips were so painful to touch, I couldn’t pick things up or hold them well. Because Junior ReloVertigo and fiancée were in their new apartment setting up the bed and other furniture, we kept Baby ReloVertigo with us for the night. The husband couldn’t bring him along, and he couldn’t leave him alone, so I took myself to the ER. You don’t know how fortunate you are to have full function of all of your extremities until one day you don’t. It took me two hands to turn my car key in the ignition. And even that was very difficult. Shifting was a nightmare. I drive a car with a manual transmission. Lots of shifting between my house and the hospital, let me tell you.

They couldn’t really do anything for me at the ER besides give me a shot and a few pills, plus some written prescriptions to take home. I was so frustrated. Almost angry, to be truthful. I just didn’t believe that this doctor knew what he was talking about. At one point, when he acted like I had a tiny problem – a little itching and a bit of swelling – I had him look at the back of my left leg. I have one long huge hive that runs the length of my thigh and looks like it may bleed. Sorry to be gross, but I’m trying to make a point here. He spent quite a bit of time staring at the backs of both my legs. I started to feel like an exhibit in the Mütter Museum, present more for his education than for my treatment. I finally came home and tried to sleep, which didn’t happen until I was so exhausted from the itching and pain that I couldn’t possibly stay awake any longer. I’d been up almost 24 hours with nothing but more swelling to show for it.

And yesterday, I felt no better, and absolutely could not believe that my hands were even more swollen. I noticed that when I touched my forearms, they had a weird, lumpy feeling beneath the skin that was not normal by any measure of the word. I was really worried. My regular doctor’s office was closed, so that wasn’t an option. I was stuck suffering. And around 7 PM, I realized that I had neither posted to the blog nor written my goal number of words for NaNoWriMo.

I had to make a choice, and since I knew how hard it would be to type, I chose the first day’s writing for NaNoWriMo. I couldn’t start that project behind, or I’d never catch up, and may even end up giving up on myself. I really want to make it on this. I thought if I had anything at all left after typing that, I would post here.
Good thought, but no way that was happening. I didn’t realize how bad I really was. It took me hours to write what I did get done, and at midnight I just tried to get some sleep.

Today, the swelling has gone down quite a bit. The itching is still there, but after experimenting with various anti-itch cream combinations and getting started on my prescriptions, it is better, I think. Thanks for your patience. I believe I’m on the road to recovery.

Comments
  1. ladymigraine says:

    OH NO Relo! What a nightmare, and on the first day of NaNo and everything! So you know for sure it was a new med? Something for migraine? I am so sorry and glad the symptoms have mostly ceased. Good for you for getting your writing in anyway!

Leave a Reply

